ro ru en


Republica Moldova 30 de ani de independență

Moldovan parliament appoints five members of electoral body

15:24 | 16.09.2021 Category: Political

Chisinau, 16 September /MOLDPRES/- Parliament adopted a draft decision on appointment of five members of the Central Electoral Commission at today's meeting. The parliamentary opposition boycotted the sitting.

The five appointed members, Alexandr Berlinschii, Angelica Caraman, Sergiu Gurduza, Ludmila Lupașco and Alexandru Musteață were nominated by the Action and Solidarity Party parliamentary faction. Also today, candidacy of Pavel Postică was approved, appointed by President Maia Sandu.

The candidacy proposed by the Shor Party parliamentary faction did not meet the required number of votes. At the same time, the candidacies submitted by the Bloc of the Communists and Socialists, Postolache Vasile, Miron Vitalie and Enciu Lilian were not discussed, as the persons concerned did not participate in the meeting.

The Central Electoral Commission has nine members - eight appointed by Parliament and one by the President of the country. According to art. 19 of the Electoral Code, as members of the Central Electoral Commission may be proposed persons who hold the citizenship of the Republic of Moldova, have good reputation and aptitude for exercising electoral activities and are not prohibited from holding a public office or public dignity. CEC members are irremovable and cannot be members of parties and other socio-political organizations.

The term of office of CEC members expired this June and was extended by 90 days.

Photo: Parliament

Any material published on the website of the Public Institution ’’A.I.S. Moldpres’’ (Moldpres News Agency) is intellectual peoperty of the Agency, protected by the copyright. The taking over or/and use of these materials will be made only with the Agency’s agreement and with compulsory reference to source.